Los Angeles Car Accident Lawyer
Car accidents have to potential to make some of the most radical changes to your life out of nowhere. Unfortunately, they happen every single day. If you find yourself in the unfortunate position of being involved in a car accident, you may be entitled to financial compensation. It is, however, important to understand what your responsibility as a driver and what factors may affect your ability to be compensated. A car accident lawyer will be able to help you in this regard.
Required Financial Responsibility
In the state of California, as an owner of a registered car, you must be able to prove your financial responsibility for it. Having a car insurance policy is the easiest way to do this. California carries with it certain insurance coverage minimums that require drivers to have a minimum of 15/30/5 insurance, named so because it covers:
- -$15,000 in the case of one injury or death
- -$30,000 in the case of multiple injuries or deaths
- -$5,000 in the case of damages
Your insurance is also legally required to provide you with an uninsured motorist policy. This is used in the case that you are involved in a crash with, or blame is attributed to, a party that does not have valid insurance.
As a driver, you must at all times carry proof of insurance with you.
Accident Reporting Requirements (Vehicle Code 16000)
While in certain scenarios you may not feel you have the need to report a car accident, incidents which result in damages of $1,000 or greater are legally required to be reported to the DMV. In the case of such a crash, you or your car accident lawyer must report the crash within ten days of the incident. This report must be completed on form SR-1, which will include the personal information of every party involved, as well as a description of the damages and injuries sustained.
Statute of Limitations Following a Car Accident
The amount of time that a car accident victim has to file a claim is limited by the State of California. In the case of property damage, you have three years from the date of the incident to file a case. In the case of personal injury, you have two years.
Citizens who believe that the State itself may be at fault are free to seek compensation, however, the statute of limitations in this case is reduced to 180 days. In any case, it is wise to seek a car accident lawyer as soon as possible.
If you find yourself reeling from a traffic incident, there’s no time to hesitate. Gammill Law has been fighting for justice in the Los Angeles area for years, and no opponent is too great to seek the financial compensation that you deserve. Call or go online for a consultation.